Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Is computer off even when I left it on?

• This topic is locked This topic is locked
10 replies to this topic

#1 Luvkitty

Luvkitty

• Members
  • 165 posts
  •  
  • Local time:11:47 PM

Posted 16 March 2009 - 10:14 PM

I know this is a weird question, but this is my first desktop computer vs. a notebook so I'm still learning how the hardrive works.

I have Webroot SpySweeper set to sweep automatically at 5PM nightly. Even though when I'm done working online I just leave and walk away with whatever is on the screen left on the screen and I leave my computer and monitor on, after about 15 minutes or so, the blue light, which is the power button light) on the harddrive will flash until I click the mouse to have the screen come back up. If the blue light is flashing at the 5PM time, then when I come back to the computer later, I get a message from SpySweeper that says there was a missed sweep. So, what is the blue light flashing for, how do I stop it, and what is the difference between shutdown, hibernate, and sleep on the Start menu? Which should I be doing, and how do I get going again if I use sleep or hibernate? Should I leave the monitor on for sleep and hibernate, too?

Thanks for the help!
Michele

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 Guest_Jay-P VIP_*

Guest_Jay-P VIP_*

• Guests
  •  

Posted 16 March 2009 - 10:58 PM