Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

rundll32.exe : errors on shutdown, possibly infected/trojan/virus etc.

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 mbux

mbux

• Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
  • Local time:04:38 AM

Posted 15 March 2009 - 03:10 PM

Hello and thanks in advance. I apologize if my post is messy or hard to understand, but I am new to this type of troubleshooting.

Recently I have been getting pop-under windows while browsing the web, which I thought was strange because it never happened before. I suspected I had been infected with spyware or something so I ran an ad-aware scan and nothing came up.

When I shut down my computer I noticed I was getting an error regarding rundll32.exe. So I did a quick google on rundll32.exe and read a few things saying it could be a problem because the real rundll32 has a capital R (Rundll32.exe). This lead me to believe it could be a source pf the problem so I searched some more and came across this page on this site
http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/forums/lof...hp/t204827.html

I followed the instructions in that thread and scanned with malwarebytes which gave me about 30 infections. Yikes! So I removed them all and for now everything seems to be working fine, but I am still worried naturally. My rundll32.exe inside the C/windows/system32 has a page icon which I read it is not supposed to be that.