Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Dial-up never the speed

• Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 terrbear

terrbear

• Members
  • 47 posts
  •  
  • Local time:04:19 PM

Posted 14 March 2009 - 06:07 PM

Ive been using the same IP for over five years and have no problems until last two weeks. (If I could afford Highspeed I would have switched along time ago). When I connect to the internet I'm doing good if I stay connect for more then an hour. I will start out with a 28.8 kbps until I have to reconnect. Then it will drop to 12.0 kbps and if I try to reconnect to try and up the speed it will then go to about 7.2 kbps. At this speed nothing works. I then shut off my pc, as to prevent putting my foot through it. About an hour later I will start up and the samething happens. Thinking that it's a modem problem I talk to Dell and they said that as long as I can connect to the internet the mpdem is working fine. They told me to contact my IP. After talking to my IP, we deleted my connection and then reinstalled the connection and still I get the same problem. They said that I should talk to my phone company for the problem is with my landline. I called my phone carrirer and they had know repairs being made in my area and as long as my get a dial tone there is nothing wrong with the system. So, who do I believe? And can I solve this problem?