Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Soundcard related BSOD crashes- full info inside

• Please log in to reply
22 replies to this topic

#1 brandall

brandall

• Members
  • 16 posts
  •  
  • Local time:12:53 AM

Posted 12 March 2009 - 03:09 AM

I'm an audio engineer doing work in Windows Vista 32 bit Home Premium edition. I have an HP dv6883us with a 1.83gHz Core2Duo with 3GB of RAM.

My system has been rock solid for months, then out of nowhere I started getting BSOD crashes the past few days. These crashes always happen when using audio software. Now, I'm using the onboard sound(I do have other sound devices that are better, but for convenience when at work I just use onboard) which is a Realtek HD Audio device. I use a driver "wrapper" called ASIO4ALL(www.asio4all.com) which basically takes the WDM drivers and lets it act as an ASIO driver, which gives the best performance in audio software generally. This is a setup that thousands of people use, and I've used it with no issues for months now on this system, and on several other systems for years.

Anyways, the BSOD crashes happen randomly, but always while using audio software. Sometimes it happens when I hit the "Stop" button in the software, or whenever I perform another action. But pretty random.