Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Can i use ddr2 ram for intel D865GSA

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 abcd_1

abcd_1

• Members
  • 91 posts
  •  
  • Local time:02:05 AM

Posted 10 March 2009 - 09:50 PM

Hi.

i use intel pentium D 820 2.8gb
motherboard D865GSA
ddr 512 ram
80gb hard disk

i am new to technology . hence the questions may seem funny but i will continue to ask.

1) how many slots for ram does my motherboard have?
2) what is the maximum amount of ram that i can go upto?(i heard that it is 2gb. but does it mean 2gb totalling all slots , or 2gb in each slot)
3) heard that ddr2 ram is cheaper than ddr. can i use it for my motherboard?
4) To run very high end programs for what is the best possible combination of pentium processor and ram for my motherboard.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 fairjoeblue

fairjoeblue

• Members
  • 1,594 posts
  •  
  • Local time:03:35 PM

Posted 10 March 2009 - 10:01 PM

Per the Intel site for your motherboard,

http://www.intel.com/products/motherboard/d865gsa/

you can only use 184-pin DDR .

DDR2 is different.

From the link to the motherboard specs,

Memory : Two 184-pin DDR SDRAM Dual Inline Memory Module (DIMM) sockets

Support for DDR 400, DDR 333, and DDR 266

Support for up to 2GB of system memory