Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

OEM or custom?

• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 Steve_Irwin

Steve_Irwin

• Members
  • 28 posts
  •  
  • Local time:01:43 AM

Posted 08 March 2009 - 02:38 PM

Hi all, so I am thinking of getting a new computer soon, and I have been debating whether to get a OEM or make one myself. ( I have no experience in building a computer, but I have opened up my computer multiple times to upgrade.)

I looked at Dell, and this looked like a great deal:
PROCESSOR:	Intel® Core™ 2 Quad processor Q8200 (4MB L2, 2.33GHz, 1333FSB)OPERATING SYSTEM:	Genuine Windows Vista® Home Premium Edition SP1, 64-BitWARRANTY & SERVICE:	1Yr Ltd Hardware Warranty, InHome Service after Remote DiagnosisMONITOR:	22 inch S2209WFP Widescreen Digital Flat Panel MonitorMEMORY:	6GB Dual Channel DDR2 SDRAM at 800MHz - 4DIMMsHARD DRIVE:	640GB Serial ATA Hard Drive (7200RPM) w/DataBurst Cache™OPTICAL DRIVE:	16X DVD+/-RW DriveVIDEO CARD:	ATI Radeon HD 3650 256MB supporting HDMISOUND:	Integrated 7.1 Channel AudioKEYBOARD & MOUSE:	Dell Consumer Multimedia Keyboard and Laser Mouse
It went about $787 USD subtotal; The total went to $864.00 with free shipping. I think this is a good deal?

Anyways, I went to new egg, and bought around same specs (but I did not really look at the brand) and it came to 800 without a video card.