Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Help with IDE drive.

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Sharpes

Sharpes

• Members
  • 55 posts
  •  
  • Local time:11:21 AM

Posted 06 March 2009 - 03:36 PM

I'm not really good with these things, so bear with me. =)

I finished putting together my new PC last week and decided today to finally get around to placing my old HD in my new PC as well. I mounted it underneath my new SATA drive, attached the IDE cable both to the HD and mobo, and plugged in the PSU cable. Problem is the BIOS isn't recognizing the HD, and I really don't know what to do now. Damnit.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 hamluis

hamluis

• 55,735 posts
  •  

Posted 06 March 2009 - 05:47 PM

Hi :thumbsup:.

If you only have the one IDE connector...I would suggest connecting the hard drive on the end connector, with the optical drive on the "middle" connector.

That's what the motherboard/BIOS expects to find.

If you use Master/Slave...the master is the hard drive, the slave is the optical. If you use Cable Select settings, both must reflect C/S.

If you don't have an IDE optical...just ignore :flowers:.

Louis

#3 Sneakycyber

Sneakycyber

Network Engineer

• BC Advisor
  • 6,111 posts
  •  
  • Local time:12:21 PM

Posted 06 March 2009 - 08:40 PM