Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Ganking

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 locally pwned

locally pwned

• Members
  • 489 posts
  •  
  • Local time:06:48 AM

Posted 02 March 2009 - 07:58 PM

I am relatively new to the MMO experience. I've been playing WoW for about 7 months or so. Some friends got me into it, so I joined their clan on a PVP server.

I've noticed that there is a wide range of opinions on the practice of ganking, attacking much lower level players. Some people go out of their way to do it; others find the practice abhorrent.

Personally - though I think it is frustrating sometimes to be questing and get jumped by a much higher level player - my opinion is that if you don't want to be attacked by players, there are PvE servers you can join. I think a huge level of depth comes from the randomness of human behavior.

But then, if you only want to fight NPCs, why not play Oblivion and save yourself 15 bucks a month?

:thumbsup:
"The whole of science is nothing more than a refinement of everyday thinking." - Albert Einstein

"The world is my country, all mankind are my brethren, and to do good is my religion." - Thomas Paine

"If it looks like a duck, and quacks like a duck, we have at least to consider the possibility that we have a small aquatic bird of the family anatidae on our hands." - Douglas Adams