Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Help CPU randomly shuts down

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 Heirapparent

Heirapparent

• Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
  • Local time:04:41 AM

Posted 02 March 2009 - 07:37 AM

Hello all I am a noob (better yet slightly above novice) when it comes to computers.

I have just finished building a computer and these are the specs.

P4C800 Delux Asus Motherboard
3.00Ghz P4 Cpu
2.25Gb of Ram
Maxtor 6E040L0 40Gb HDD
OEM CD-Rom F566E

ChiefTech Power Supply
Model# HPC-340-101 ATX12V
AC Input 115-240V
Frequency: 50-60hz
Max load 340W

It turns on and runs fine for the most part, but after a few hours of use it just shuts off.
I thought it was the temp. inside the tower but that was fine and I've disconnected and reconnected all the hardware and everything is connected properly.

Also on a side note I used I-Tunes the other day and loaded my library from an external and it cause the computer to shut down. There's no warning before it shuts down.

So I'm looking for any and all suggestions to fix this problem

thanx

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 fairjoeblue

fairjoeblue

• Members
  • 1,594 posts
  •  

Posted 02 March 2009 - 09:37 AM

It sounds like the CPU is overheating.

You did put a thin coat of thermal compound on the CPU before you put the heatsink/fan on ?