Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Run out of space on hardrive - Need to clear

• Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 KirstenR

KirstenR

• Members
  • 6 posts
  •  
  • Local time:05:49 PM

Posted 27 February 2009 - 07:50 AM

Hi,

Before I start, please forgive me for my lack of technical terminology, as I am not very experienced with the technical side of computers.

I was given an Acer Aspire Laptop from my father a couple of years ago, who informed me to save everything on my D drive as the C drive was only very small. Although I have always downloaded programmes onto my D drive, the C drive now has virtually no space. I have been through the files and deleted as much as I dare, but I still have barely any space.

I have also attempted to de-frag it, only to be told that there is not enough space to complete the process properly. A colleague of mine told me that years ago there used to be a programme called Quakermass that would search your computer for unused files and then advise you of whether they were safe to remove or not without removing something that helps another programme work. Is there another programme like this that would help me make space?