Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Trojan Horse & Downloader viruses on Flash Drive

• Please log in to reply
42 replies to this topic

#1 rabidrun

rabidrun

• Members
  • 53 posts
  •  
  • Local time:07:55 AM

Posted 27 February 2009 - 01:23 AM

good morning, folks. this is my first time posting on your website. tonight Norton's virus history identified a Trojan Horse virus on the F drive (flash drive) located at F:\Autorun.inf while working on my old timey Compaq computer w/ MS Windows XP SP2.

I downloaded program flashdisinfector.exe, & inserted both flash drives when prompted by program. I shut down the PC, brought it back up, & then did a manual scan of E & F drives & got a message that I now have a Downloader virus w/ file name: autorun.exe located on F:\RECYCLER/RECYCLER\ & that Norton had quarantined it. Did I get Downloader virus from downloading flashdisinfector?

So I tried to run flashdisinfector program again & this time I pressed SHIFT when I inserted flash drives when prompted but the desktop icons never returned to the screen after about 25 minutes. I shut down system & when I started it back up it told me I was not protected by a firewall. I went into the control panel, windows firewall & saw that "on" was checked, so I'm not sure why i was told firewall was off. is there another firewall i need to check if enabled?