Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

doit yourself 4th plug for UPS?

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 MilesAhead

MilesAhead

• Members
  • 197 posts
  •  
  • Local time:02:08 AM

Posted 24 February 2009 - 02:06 PM

I'm not an electrical engineer so I'm wondering if you have one of those UPS with only 3 battery backed outlets, can you "cheat" by hooking 2 low power gizmos to an extension cord and plugging into one outlet?
I'm thinking battery backup for modem or network switch or router. I'm only talking about those 2 second power glitches that lose your network connection.

Is there some interaction where it would be dangerous to the equipment?

"I don't want to belong to any club that would have me as a member."
- Groucho Marx

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 dc3

dc3

Bleeping Treehugger

• Members
  • 30,590 posts
  •  
  • Local time:11:08 PM

Posted 24 February 2009 - 10:45 PM