Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Adding a Wireless router is driving me nuts

• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 tacoidentity

tacoidentity

• Members
  • 5 posts
  •  
  • Local time:05:15 AM

Posted 21 February 2009 - 12:38 AM

Ok i am a noob for sure on this site, my first post is about to commence.

I have a dell laptop 6400, prolly doesnt matter. I am not a computer idiot but im not the best. Here is the deal:

Little background info...
I have cable internet and the modem that time warner brought with it. I have been connected forever through a USB connection however i am only getting 10mbps which is pretty lame considering i used to get a lot more with wireless when i lived at home with FIOS. It hasnt been bothering me too much and thats not my issue. However whenever my brother brings over his ps3 or my gf brings her laptop they cannot connect because i dont have wireless router connected and everyone in my apt has a secure network.