Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Spyware that remains after a format?

• This topic is locked This topic is locked
4 replies to this topic

#1 CameronJPU

CameronJPU

• Members
  • 7 posts
  •  
  • Local time:07:04 PM

Posted 19 February 2009 - 08:14 PM

I've got a really unique problem here! First off, I'm a computer tech, I've been running my own support business for 5 years now. Suffice to say, I know how to remove spyware about as well as I know how to tie my shoes. I've got a client's computer here, which I worked on for 2 hours today. I think only a hack would need to reformat a computer to clean spyware, but that's the situation I found myself in today after working for two hours and the spyware not being removed.

I used MBAM, SAS, HJT and more. Repeatedly, in safe mode etc. I also have ERD Commander 2007 which I used to go in and delete files manually. So when none of that worked, I said it's time to cut bait and just do the reformat. So I brought the computer home with me and got started reformatting. Everything looked good until the first reboot, when Explorer.exe gave me a DEP error. I went to task manager and saw a number of things I didn't like, including 5 IExplore processes and a bunch of unknown processes that clearly indicated that despite the format and reinstall, the spyware remained.