Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Trojan Vundo - need help removing

• Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 drax42

drax42

• Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
  • Local time:10:52 PM

Posted 14 February 2009 - 12:39 PM

Greetings, all.

This is my first time posting here, and I have a recurring problem. Recently my system was infected with the Vundo trojan. (I am currently running Windows XP SP3 Media Center Edition. Firefox is my default browser, and Trend Micro PC-cillin Internet Security 14 is my anti-virus software.)

I first noticed a problem when I started getting unusual pop-ups when running Firefox, pop-ups which would direct me to various things like other anti-spyware sites and such. I also noticed that my Tab Options setting for opening new pages was consistently resetting itself to open new pages in a new window, even though I had it set to open in a new tab. Simultaneously I noticed that my Windows Automatic Update feature was showing an icon indicating it was turned off, even though I had it turned on.