Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Trojan W32/Smalldrp.AED

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 mavieen

mavieen

• Members
  • 16 posts
  •  
  • Local time:12:44 PM

Posted 31 May 2005 - 06:17 PM

Hi! This is my first time posting in this community. I am actually posting on behalf of a friend whose computer is overrun with adware, spyware and at least 1 trojan due to an out of town guest doing things he should not have done. She's running on Windows XP. She bought a virus scanner called Norman and it showed the following:

C:\counter.cab counter.exe
Trojan: W32/Smalldrp.AED

I managed to find this using the virus scanner she purchased, but after that everytime I start her computer I have about 20 seconds before the entire thing freezes up and we have to shut it down. The cursor still moves, but I cannot click on any programs or search for files after the 20+ seconds.

I used to use Windows 98 but switched to Mac OSX over a year ago, and I am not very compitent using Windows XP. Can anyone walk us through what we should do to get rid of this? Would it just be better to take it somewhere to get fixed? Is it fixable?

She said there was also something that kept poping up called AURORA which I am guessing is some kind of spyware. Any way to get rid of that?

Additional info: