Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

WINDOWS AERO

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 DEPUTYDOG03

DEPUTYDOG03

• Members
  • 3 posts
  •  
  • Local time:05:22 AM

Posted 05 February 2009 - 01:12 PM

Hello,

I am new to this and I hope I am posting in the correct place, if not so sorry.

I keep geeting this window that pops up stating windows that says windows aero is not working on top and you may be a victim of software counterfeiting.

It wants me to validate my microsoft windows as genuine and go on line to resolve now.

is this some virus waiting to happen or is this a ligit thing?

please help

thanks

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 czhang

czhang

• Members
  • 92 posts
  •  
  • Local time:08:22 AM

Posted 05 February 2009 - 01:24 PM

Welcome to this forum!

This is probably not a virus. Have you tried to follow the onscreen instructions to validate it? If your OS is an OEM version or is otherwise genuine, you don't have to be afraid of anything. If it says your copy is a counterfeit, you will have to contact MS tech support, though.