Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

problem with internet connection

• Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1 Rush Autos

Rush Autos

• Members
  • 8 posts
  •  
  • Local time:01:52 PM

Posted 24 May 2005 - 06:26 PM

Hey ya'll, My name is Rush and I am new to this bleepingcomputer thing. But what better time to get myself acclimated by asking a question that is giving me a serious headache.

K, here is the deal.

I have a Dell Demension 4600 desktop computer (windows XP home, 1024MB RAM, 80 Gb HD, 2.8 Gb Processor, Radeon 9600XT video, SOundblaster audigy2 sound). SO this computer has some power. It is protected by McAfee virus scan and firewall, sygate personal firewall (freeware version), spybot, adaware, and spyhunter 2.0. This computer is all well and good right now. Here is the problem:

I have just arrived home from college and i want to connect to my parents Hispeed comcast cabel modem. WHen i connect my parent's computer to the modem i connect to the internet just fine but when i try to hook up my computer to it i have a limited connection and cannot access the internet at all. I have tried to "repair" the connection but that fails to reestablish my IP number. I have also tried to establish a new connection but that fails as well. I am totally baffelled and dont know what to do.