Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

WIN XP Home: desktop icons disappeared

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 nordan777

nordan777

• Members
  • 3 posts
  •  
  • Local time:11:20 AM

Posted 13 January 2009 - 08:18 AM

Good morning everybody, I'm just a newbie and I subscribed this forum in hope to find some help. First of all, I hope that this thread is the right one:I made some researches and I did not find anything about my problem, so I'm posting here. Hope that won't be banned immediately !! :thumbsup:

Well, to the topic,now. I have a notebook HP (mod.nx 6160 Compaq 40 Gb ) Win XP Home onboard. The other day I downloaded service pack number 3. After rebooting, all the desktop icons had disappeared : yes, I can only see the "green green hills of XP", no Start, no Bar. I took some acrions:

1-Right click on the desktop to force icons to be shown. No way. The cursor turns to sandclock and returns arrow. Nothing happens.
2-I opened Task Manager ( the only thing I can do) and looked at the processes running: I noticed the missing of "explorer.exe", so ..well, File > Execute > explorer.exe. Answer: " Explorer .exe is not a valid app of Wim32". ( or something similar).