Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

TV Tuner card problem

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 teabie

teabie

• Members
  • 26 posts
  •  
  • Local time:04:43 PM

Posted 08 January 2009 - 12:08 AM

Hello everyone,

I am a newbie with TV Tuners and streaming stuffs, so I don't really know how to start explaining my predicament.

I own an Acer Aspire L3600, which comes with a TV Tuner. My operating system is Vista Home Premium, 32-bit. Here are the details of the tuner.

Posted Image

It says it's working properly.

I used to be able to receive FM stations, but I think after updating the driver, it ceased to be recognised by Windows Media Center.

Posted Image

As you can see, I even had the presets when it was working, but now I get this error message.

From the start, I've never been successful in receiving local channels. I'm located in Melbourne, AU. I don't know if I'm setting things up correctly.

There are 2 outputs on my CPU - one plugged with an FM receiver, the other with a Sansai VHF + UHF TV Indoor Antenna. I've tried scanning for channels with ALL the possible antenna options. Do I need to buy something else?

As you can tell, I'm a real newbie when it comes to this and the setting up, so if anyone can shed some light on this, I'll be really grateful for your time and advice.

Thank you!

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 hamluis