Jump to content
Posted 03 January 2009 - 10:53 PM
Posted 03 January 2009 - 11:50 PM
Posted 04 January 2009 - 02:33 AM
When you delete a user account, there are 2 options:
Keep the files of the account on the computer Or delete files. It sounds as if you chose the second option, which deleted your wife's files when you deleted the account.
Keep files would have deleted the account, but the files would have been kept on the computer. These files could have been moved to new accounts for your wife.
You might be able to recover the files with recovery software. Since I have no experience with recovery software, someone else can recommend programs for you to try.
The HP owner account is set up as a default account by HP. I've successfully deleted the owner account in the past-and have no clue why it still shows on your system if you deleted it.
Posted 04 January 2009 - 08:53 AM
Posted 04 January 2009 - 08:56 AM
Posted 04 January 2009 - 01:30 PM
Posted 04 January 2009 - 01:44 PM
Are you sure it gives you those options when you are in control userpasswords2 ??
In the regular control panel user settings and you delete the account it gives you the option that you are speaking of, not sure if it works the same way in control userpasswords2.
However, by default on HP computers... the user account HP_Owner, HP Owner, or Owner are the default user accounts on the machine. The default administrator account is called one of those names. Regardless of if the account is called "Mom" or "Sally" etc it still will show the folder as HP Owner. I bet you erased the account thinking it was a different account because it was control userpasswords2 instead of the regular user control panel. Nevertheless it seems that data is missing and you need to recover it. I have had good luck with Power Data Recovery however I have never used another tool besides the Seagate commercial tool that I use at work. I have had great luck with both. I am sure there are other good ones out there.
Somebody please correct me about the control userpasswords2 not giving the option to delete the files or keep the files? I may be wrong but I do not want to test it on my machine
"I'm not dumb. I just have a command of thoroughly useless information."
Posted 04 January 2009 - 01:49 PM
Posted 04 January 2009 - 05:15 PM
0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users