Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

hardware tech w/ software questions

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 scorcher

scorcher

• Members
  • 16 posts
  •  
  • Local time:06:26 AM

Posted 30 December 2008 - 01:22 PM

I am currently a hardware technician who does next-day warranty hardware installs. My knowledge of software is limited since we aren't allowed to do many software adjustments, changes.

I am interested in doing sidework as a technician for virus removal, OS installs.

I've done research but am very confused on the OS install when it pertains to machines that need a fresh install and the customer does not have their install disc but the machine has a product key on the panel.

What OS installation discs do I need. Example: if the product key was for XP SP 1, can a XP SP 2 disc work with that product key or do I need a XP SP 1 disc? In addition, should I get OEM disks and install but change the product key once the OS is installed?

Any help on what software tools I need for OS installs would be greatly appreciated!

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 hamluis

hamluis

• 55,254 posts
  •  
  • Local time:06:26 AM

Posted 30 December 2008 - 01:38 PM

FWIW (I don't do this for a living):

There are a couple of ways to get the correct installed key...from a system...I suppose that most users settle on one.