Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Can't Restore Active Desktop or open Control Panel

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 jsheez

jsheez

• Members
  • 4 posts
  •  
  • Local time:11:34 AM

Posted 27 December 2008 - 08:42 PM

Hello,

Well let me start off by saying I'm a newbie here! I am currently running Windows XP and just recently installed Norton 360. The problems below did not start until after I had successfully installed Norton 360. It was working fine until later that night. My wife had went on to the internet and after she finished that's when the problems showed up.

My first problem is I can't restore my Active Desktop. When I press the restore button I get an error message. The error message reads:

Internet Explorer Script Error

Line: 65

Char: 1

Error: Object doesn't support this action

Code: 0

URL: file:///C:/Documents%20and%20Settings/BigSheriff/Application%20Data/Microsoft/Internet%20Explorer/Desktop.htt

Do you want to continue to run scripts on this page? Yes / No

Problem 2:

I can not open the control panel, printer and faxes, my computer, etc... (the tabs on the start menu) The screen simply blinks (going to my orginal desktop) and goes back to that white (restore active desktop) screen. It seems like it resets it self because my quick launch icons disappear then reappear as if I restarted the computer.