Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Microsoft USB Optical Mouse not connecting

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 suvarghyadutta

suvarghyadutta

• Members
  • 20 posts
  •  
  • Local time:04:36 AM

Posted 23 December 2008 - 03:35 AM

Hello,

I have a Microsoft Basic Optical Mouse 1.0A which I have been using for the past four years. Now I am facing the foll problem:

1. When i am starting my system (Win XP), the mouse gets activated.
2. It stays activated for about 10 seconds or so and then the power goes off from the mouse.
3. If I remove the mouse from the USB port and then re plug it there, the mouse again gets the power.
4. The power stays for abt 10 or 15 seconds and then the mouse dies yet again. This cycle continues.
5. Sometimes the message comes, "USB device not recognised" and sometimes the message comes "your USB device is installed and is ready for use".
6. Device manager shows Mice and other handheld devices and after a while the entry vanishes.
7. There is one heading in the device manager called 'human interface device' which shows with a yellow exclamation mark. Trying to uninstal and reinstal it has given no results.
8. When i am looking into the Mouse section in COntrol Panel, it shows as if no mouse i attached and properties show "Cannot start device, error code (10)".