Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Google Installer error

• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 LauraPittman

LauraPittman

• Members
  • 6 posts
  •  
  • Local time:04:06 AM

Posted 22 December 2008 - 09:12 PM

Hello--I'm new to bleepingcomputer.com. My sister referred me and told me how awesome it is.

I am hoping that someone can give me some insight and maybe assist me in troubleshooting/fixing the issues at hand.

At present, when I boot up it looks as if everything is fine. They it freezes on the desktop with an hourglass. Previously a blue error screen came up which left me no option but to reboot by pressing the power button or removing the power cord.

Can anyone help me?

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 Budapest

Budapest

Bleepin' Cynic

• 23,573 posts
  •  
  • Local time:07:06 PM

Posted 22 December 2008 - 09:39 PM

Can you boot into Safe Mode?

How to start Windows in Safe Mode

If so, do the following:

Right click on the C drive in Explorer and go Properties > Tools > Check Now (under Error Checking). Check both boxes then click "Start Now". A message will pop up saying that Error Checking will run after you restart the computer. Restart the computer and Error Checking will run automatically after the restart. After itís finished it will restart into Windows automatically.