Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

program not found skipping autocheck

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 alkan

alkan

• Members
  • 10 posts
  •  
  • Local time:05:02 PM

Posted 13 December 2008 - 04:59 PM

im a complete novice and require advice on fixing a small problem.
when i boot my pc , xp home os, im getting , briefly,the following messages on a blue screen, after which, the pc then runs normally.
x]o program not found skipping autocheck
c]o program not found skipping autocheck

ive googled the messages and have been informed that the problem is a result of a corruption in the BootExecute , in the registry. i have to delete the multi-string, which , at present, consists of the word autocheck twice and a number of symbols and replace it with the default :-
autocheck autochk *.

i double click BootExecute, which opens a Edit Multi-String box containing ."value name" ie. BootExecute, and "value data" as below

autocheck x}0U!&
autocheck }0pD!DM
autocheck lsdelete

my question is, do i simply delete the present "value data" and type the default autocheck autochk * into the box and click ok.
am i correct that there is a space between the two words and another before the asterisk.