Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

need advice after xp sytem restore

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 pjdbonanza

pjdbonanza

• Members
  • 3 posts
  •  
  • Local time:12:21 AM

Posted 11 May 2005 - 03:53 PM

Hi.. I'm new to bleeping computer. I recently had an XP crash incident. I think I precipitated it by shutting my dell down manually (the 5 second push on the start switch) several times in a row while trying to figure out why the computer was "freezing" when I tried to use Roxio CD creator. In retrospect, I think that iTunes and Roxio conflict, as the problem arose after downloading iTunes. When I tried to burn a CD.. EVERYTHING hung up. Even task manager couldn't shut things down, and it itself stopped working... thus the 5 second push!! Anyway, on about the third manual over ride reboot, the system shutdown incorrectly screen came up, and none of the options (safe mode, last known good, etc) worked.. XP would start to load, and then it went right back to the Dell reboot screen... in a sort of endless loop. 5 hours on the phone with India (microsoft tech support) and all sorts of tries with Recovery Panel.. still nothing.. so we had to reinstall XP.