Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

reinstall Vista on Dell computer

• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 jbird

jbird

• Members
  • 3 posts
  •  
  • Local time:03:50 PM

Posted 02 December 2008 - 03:11 PM

Hello, this is my first time posting here.

I am working on my sister's laptop, it's Dell Inspiron 1720, only a few months old. Last week she encountered a problem upon booting up and received the BSOD and then the option to repair the computer. It would not repair and would not restore back to previous dates.

She called Dell for support and found that she has to pay mega bucks just to get support.... The only thing they helped with was ensuring that the hard drive was not at fault since the fn key upon reboot did the diagnostic and ruled out hard drive problems. I am suspecting the latest windows update may have caused this since she did the update the day before and suddenly this repair option occurred.

She was provided the Dell disk with Vista disk and a drivers disk with the system... can I reinstall Vista overtop without losing any of her programs and data (I used to do this successfully with Win98 and XP). I looked through the tutorials here about Vista help but didn't see this option available.

Appreciate any help you can give me.

deb

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 Michael-Anthony

Michael-Anthony

• Banned
  • 267 posts