Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

First language?

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Steve_Irwin

Steve_Irwin

• Members
  • 28 posts
  •  
  • Local time:06:25 PM

Posted 27 November 2008 - 04:21 AM

Hi all,
I have a C programming e book, and wondered if C was a good beginning language? I have no past experience with programming, and I heard from a friend that I should learn C if I was interested in being a software engineer since every driver is coded in C and it's the fastest language. Thanks for answering :thumbsup:

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 jpshortstuff

jpshortstuff

WhatTheTech Teacher

• Members
  • 660 posts
  •  
  • Local time:03:25 AM

Posted 27 November 2008 - 09:21 AM

In my personal opinion, yes, C is a good language to begin with. Often people start with things like Java/PHP (I myself started with Java). However, because these languages "do a lot for you", often the programmer doesn't understand everything that is going on behind the scenes, and therefore can be in trouble when unexpected problems occur with their code or program. Learning C first forces you to learn a lot about how computers work and how to work with them to make efficient, robust programs.