Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Activex scripting will not work....unusual problem

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 asaw3157

asaw3157

• Members
  • 6 posts
  •  
  • Local time:05:52 AM

Posted 07 May 2005 - 10:29 PM

I have been working on computers on the side for a couple of years now, but I have run into a dead end on this situation. The clients computer I am working on was recently infected with numerous viruses, hijackers, and spyware. After finally getting everything cleaned up, internet explorer appears to be corrupted. I can't get any activex scripting to work. I can't load windows update website, yahoo mail, pcpitstop, etc. All settings are correct, I have checked and double checked that. I have done a reinstall of internet explorer. I have run all windows repair utilities. I have uninstalled and reinstalled flash player, java, and shockwave. Yet my problem is still the same. Has anyone ever experienced a problem like this before? I am trying to avoid a reformat and clean install of windows if at all possible, simply because my client refuses to do that. All help is greatly appreciated, thanks.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 Leurgy

Leurgy

Voted most likely

• Members
  • 3,831 posts
  •  

Posted 08 May 2005 - 09:51 AM

Hello asaw3157 and welcome to BC