Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

cannot boot XP window

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 volcane2

volcane2

• Members
  • 3 posts
  •  
  • Local time:09:07 PM

Posted 16 November 2008 - 08:32 AM

Hi! i'm newbie here.........unable to boot Xp Pro window after replacing optical 'IDE' dvd writer to 'SATA' optical dvd writer.... but
if i add the 'SATA' optical drive as ' secondary or slave it boots up with no problems, any clues ???

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 volcane2

volcane2
  • Topic Starter

• Members
  • 3 posts
  •  

Posted 16 November 2008 - 08:38 AM

i'm unable to boot to XP Windows (but past 'POST') with black screen blinking cursor on left hand side.........i had tried several ways to solve but still fails
includes.........repair XP windows using CD , its stop after copying files.....unable to enter safe mode also........tried recovery console 'fixMBR' n 'fixboot'
Please advice !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!i don't to reformat cos' important datas inside............. Any rescue ?????????

#3 hamluis

hamluis

• 55,753 posts
  •  
  • Local time:08:07 AM

Posted 16 November 2008 - 12:38 PM

I think you are confused somewhat...or I am (highly possible) :thumbsup:.

A SATA drive doesn't reflect as "slave" unless it is in the BIOS. I know that my BIOS reflects them that way, but I pay no attention to it because I don't boot from them.