Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

ubuntu boot issues

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 thekanclub

thekanclub

• Members
  • 18 posts
  •  
  • Local time:11:46 AM

Posted 25 October 2008 - 09:21 AM

hi,
i am new to linux and i have download ubuntu 8.10 and installed on my machine
my machine spec pentium 4 with 2.4 ghz and 256 mb ram, hdd 40 gb and i have windows xp sp3 and tried to install ubuntu as a dual operating system and it installed successfully , after i entered the username and password on ubuntu i see only orange wallpaper with mouse cursor and nothing else. please guide me what should i do..

thanks in advance
Thanks & Regards,
blissful chap

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
most of the things we desire are expensive, but the truth is :
the things that really make us happy are free:
Love
joy
laughter
and of course Linux....lol
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 thekanclub

thekanclub
  • Topic Starter

• Members
  • 18 posts
  •  

Posted 26 October 2008 - 01:50 AM

can any one help me please :thumbsup:
Thanks & Regards,
blissful chap

Love
joy
laughter

#3 BlackSpyder

BlackSpyder

Bleeping Big Rig

• BC Advisor
  • 2,456 posts
  •  
  • Local time:02:16 AM

Posted 26 October 2008 - 10:51 PM