Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Can't get Passed Windows Welcome Screen

• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 2ndoneandcounting

2ndoneandcounting

• Members
  • 5 posts
  •  
  • Local time:10:54 PM

Posted 09 October 2008 - 01:31 PM

good afternoon.

i am a complete novice so do not flame me please I am really trying to give all the details as I recall them and do the best that I know how to do-

initial background information

I have windows xp and had problems with NT/Authority Virus last week, Windows32.exe showed as the specific infection when scanned with Windows Defender(Downloaded from Microsoft.com) , nothing showed when Symatenc scanned computer.
I do live update for Symantec at least once a week manually and it is set to Automatic Update as well.

This same virus also tried to lock me out of Task Manger.

Cleaned Computer with Windows Defender.

Cleaned computer with Malware Malbytes and A-squared Free and A-squared Hijack.
Deleted remaining suspect files.

Scanned again with Windows Defender and Symantec after cleaning/file delete and nothing came up.

Was running just fine since doing all this Saturday & Sunday.

Post Clean Put on Zone Alarm, Task Manager Fix, Revo Uninstall.

Had to use Freeware because Buget is currently tight.