Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Monitor Not Getting Signal- From Video Card Or Motherboard

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 zellchan

zellchan

• Members
  • 3 posts
  •  
  • Local time:03:07 AM

Posted 05 October 2008 - 08:55 AM

Good morning all. I'm a newbie here, but I've been lurking for about a year.

This morning I was pulled from my warm, comfy bed by a distraught mother. Oh dear, something's gotten between her and her next hit from the sims. Groggily pulling myself out of the blakets and removing the cat now attached to my face, I went to see what the problem is.

Neither the video card or the VGA port off the motherboard are sending any signal to the monitor. Tried both vga ports with the card in. Tried another monitor, video card in. Took the video card out, tried both monitors, no dice. That was as much troubleshooting as I could figure. I'm getting no error beeps at all.

Computer is a Gateway GT5674, downgraded to windows XP pro.

Monitor #1 is an HP W2207h

Monitor #2 is an Acer AL1716

Video Card is an ATI 2400Pro PCI express

All connections are VGA. I checked three cables to make sure it wasn't that.

When I boot the machine, it happily hums to life, sends power to the speakers, hums merrily and whatever monitor that's hooked up sits at me staring with a finger up it's nose.