Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Advice, Recommendations For A Noob

• Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 Schoelman

Schoelman

• Members
  • 47 posts
  •  
  • Local time:02:46 PM

Posted 01 October 2008 - 04:01 PM

I'm trying to price this stuff out right now for a computer build while i'm deployed to iraq....

i've never built one before, any advice good forums etc i should be reading?

Any components below i shoudl avoid or change? if so...what do you recommend and why?

thanks!

NVIDIA nForce 680i SLI Motherboard
4GB Kingston Dual Channel DDR2 SDRAM at 800MHz - 4 x 1024MB - not sure about kingston, might go with Dane-Elec or Crucial
Single 1GB NVIDIA GeForce GTX 280 (graphics proc)
1000 Watt Power supply- no idea who makes these or what is good/bad about diff ones????i
High-Performance Liquid Cooling - again, who makes this, what should i get????
Intel Core 2 Extreme QX6850 3.0GHz 8MB Cache 1333MHz FSB
1TB SATA 3Gb/s 7,200RPM 32MB Cache
Killer K1 Gaming Network Interface Card
High-Definition 7.1 Performance Audio - probably soundblaster, just cuz i know the name?
22" Samsung 2253BW 1680 x 1050 (2ms) Widescreen Flat Panel
Chiefmax SILVER STEEL 10BAY MID TOWER QUIET ATX CASE

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

m

#2 DJBPace07

DJBPace07

• BC Advisor
  • 4,869 posts
  •  
  • Local time:01:46 PM

Posted 01 October 2008 - 05:35 PM