Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Issue's With Explorer/xp Home

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 JagX22

JagX22

• Members
  • 24 posts
  •  
  • Local time:05:31 PM

Posted 01 October 2008 - 11:40 AM

This one is kinda complicated. I am new to BleepingComputer, a friend suggested it. I have a Dell Inspiron w/ Windows XP on it. Somehow, when I don't directly type in the URL (say if I go to a search engine) the link that I click directs me away from my search to a random webpage. I could look up anything but I always get redirect on all the web browsers I have. Also, when I right click on the desktop to try and change my display properties, I no longer have the "Desktop" tab available, so I cannot change my background picture or the screen saver. I ran a virus scan and about 9 trojan viruses were detected and cleaned. I am getting another issue as well, something to do with the SVCHost file in my registry. I will go into the processes in my task manager and there is always about 7 SVCHost files running, when I try to end the process my computer prompts me and says it is automatically going to shut itself down within 30 seconds and it begins the countdown. Also, the SVCHost files reappear after I end the process. I tried to go into my registry and delete the file from it but the same problem happens, the computer auto-shuts down. Am I i