Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Mblaster Like Virus On Win Xp Sp3

• This topic is locked This topic is locked
7 replies to this topic

#1 traolach

traolach

• Members
  • 3 posts
  •  
  • Local time:07:01 PM

Posted 29 September 2008 - 11:56 PM

Hi I'm new to this but would really welcome some help. Hope this is the right place to start. I'm running win xp SP3 with AVG anti-virus, Spybot Search and destroy, Spyware blaster and Malawarebytes. After running these system appears to come up clean, but the NT AUTHORITY\SYSTEM message keeps appearing intermittently and shuts down PC
In desperation I've I uninstalled AVG and am currently trying Threatfire. Despite having automatic updates on I cant get any patches from microsoft. SP3 seems to be the problem there. None of the many scans I've done has identified msblaster or any of the variants I've read about. Has anyone else had this problem?
I can post a hijackthis log but will wait for advice first. Thanks

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

m

#2 DaChew

DaChew

Visiting Alien

• BC Advisor
  • 10,317 posts
  •  
  • Local time:02:01 PM

Posted 30 September 2008 - 01:06 AM

Hello traolach

welcome to Bleepin

AVG anti-virus, Spybot Search and destroy, Spyware blaster

were any of these running when sp3 was loaded?

that's enough to cause your problems right there
Chewy