Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Comcast Help- Desktop Doctor

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 KateJ123

KateJ123

• Members
  • 11 posts
  •  
  • Local time:12:26 AM

Posted 28 September 2008 - 04:49 PM

I'm not a complete newb, but I'm often scared to delete anything from my computer because with Windows I never know what applications are completely necessary (and everyone has a different opinion).

When I set up my comcast modem, I had to install what i was told was a 'necessary' component called 'desktop doctor'. I did a basic google search and it seems like a fairly okay program but it doesn't seem like something i absolutely need to have in order for my modem to work. do i really need it? Is this something that, if deleted, would really mess up my modem or comcast's ability to repair the modem remotely?

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

m

#2 dc3

dc3

Bleeping Treehugger

• Members
  • 30,023 posts
  •  
  • Local time:09:26 PM

Posted 28 September 2008 - 04:55 PM

Desktop Doctor is Comcast's software which is used to trouble shooting in the event that you have a connectivity problem with the internet or e-mail. It's not vital.

Family and loved ones will always be a priority in my daily life.  You never know when one will leave you.

#3 KateJ123

KateJ123
  • Topic Starter

• Members
  • 11 posts
  •