Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Set Up

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 xanderthemighty

xanderthemighty

• Members
  • 37 posts
  •  
  • Local time:05:35 PM

Posted 28 September 2008 - 12:00 AM

Hi! I'm new to Pro Tools and I thought maybe I could find some help... I'm really a novice at sound stuff and while I can do basic things I think... there is just some stuff that I don't do well. First, a bit about my system:

I am running Windows XP Pro SP3, 3GHz Hyper-Threading, 2GB of RAM with the latest version of Pro Tools (7.4). I have the MBox 2 Mini (USB) with Sony MDR-7506 Headphones attached in the front headphone jack. Currently there is nothing plugged into the back but there are two 1/4" inputs, two 1/4" outputs, and an XLR port.

First off, I just got a microphone today, the Samson Q7, which attaches an XLR cable to the XLR port in the back of the Mini. I've tried restarting and shutting down the system but it isn't recognized or at least I can't seem to find it in either my Pro Tools or in the Windows Audio Configuration. This is the most important thing for me to get working as I will need to record directly into Pro Tools and the only other mic I have is USB and Pro Tools doesn't support it. The guy at Sam Ash said it would work, but so far I can't figure it out!