Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Antivirus Xp 2008 On A Windows Xp Machine

• Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 maryn

maryn

• Members
  • 9 posts
  •  
  • Local time:11:46 AM

Posted 16 September 2008 - 03:53 PM

Hi all,

I'm new to this, so please bear with me. I have a machine that has been hit with the Antivirus XP 2008. Spent a good part of the day "cleaning house" etc. to get the machine back to working order.

I have managed to clear the bogus "splash screens" etc that get thrown out there with Antivirus XP, however I now have a problem with very slow performance and no ability to work with my printers at all. I keep getting an error popping up relating to the Data Execution Prevention. Wondering if/how I can get past this. I suspect that the Antivirus XP 2008 is the culprit.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Mary

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

m

#2 DaChew

DaChew

Visiting Alien

• BC Advisor
  • 10,317 posts
  •  
  • Local time:12:46 PM

Posted 16 September 2008 - 04:09 PM

Welcome to Bleeping maryn

So as not to duplicate efforts, what programs have you used to try to clean this infection?
Chewy

No. Try not. Do... or do not. There is no try.

#3 maryn

maryn
  • Topic Starter

• Members
  • 9 posts
  •  

Posted 16 September 2008 - 04:12 PM