Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Why Does Wmpccs2 Show Twice In Scu?

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 sandman1374

sandman1374

• Members
  • 65 posts
  •  
  • Local time:04:10 PM

Posted 16 September 2008 - 04:52 AM

First off let me apologize for my ignorance! I'm a newbie to this computer world and have always been able to receive help from my son (who now after 5yrs of collage in this field) I hate to bother all the time and figure it's time for dad to learn to do things on my own. My concern is after sometime of just noticing what the system configuration utility (start up) list's, that has always contained only 5 activated items, is all of a sudden listing two additional (unremoveble) items called wmpccs2. Command reads C:\WINDOWS\wmpccs2.exe and location is HKCU\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVer... I honestly haven't noticed any speed reduction or other problems other then Firefox is always showing up twice in the task manager processes after first logging into my account. After reading through several other post's on this site I did run SDFix and found it located a Trojan (C:\WINDOWS\syspr.prx - Deleted) at which point it told me to re-immunize my anti-spyware program. I ran Spybot as recommended and it listed a Bifouse.gen trojan was found and i removed it and then re-immunized. After all this nothing has changed I stil