Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

External Hard Drive To Tv

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 brisboarder

brisboarder

• Members
  • 12 posts
  •  
  • Local time:08:31 PM

Posted 14 September 2008 - 06:10 PM

Hello a total noob here. i did my search to no avail so here goes.
i am buying an external plug'n'play hard drive for movies,pics and music. The Seagate 320GB USB 2.0 External Hard Drive (STM303204EHAB01) seems like a deal? And i started thinking about if i could play said media on my tv through a usb to av-in or usb to s-vid. The tv is not a new one with usb on it but it is not so old that it has rabbit ears.
Does such a cable exist and where can i find one. i dont want to put much money into this so anything expensive is out of the question, so is there a cable or something simple for this?
Thanks in advance

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 hamluis

hamluis

• 56,086 posts
  •  
  • Local time:11:31 PM

Posted 14 September 2008 - 06:23 PM

So you want to have your video, graphics, and music...play on your TV?

It's possible, I don't know why you would want to do it, if you don't have an LCD monitor, though. The reason I say that is that graphics and video files will look better on a monitor than they would on an older TV like I have...I would gain nothing by viewing them on TV and would lose viewing quality.