Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Newbie Here, I Needs Help With Conversion From Vista To Xp Home Editoin

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 Normalnorbert

Normalnorbert

• Members
  • 12 posts
  •  
  • Local time:09:58 PM

Posted 13 September 2008 - 06:38 PM

All right, well as you can tell I am kinda new at this. My brother was complaining about vista on his laptop because it was having troubles connecting to our home network, and he kept getting random errors. So i installed Xp Home Edition on his Gateway MT-3422. It went well, but it has some ? in the device manager.
The question marks were next to:
Other PCI Bridge Device
SM Bus Controller
Video Controller (VGA Compatible)

I have searched the web trying to find help, I got some of them to remove but i still can't get rid of the ones above.
So if anyone could help me with this it would be much appreciated! :thumbsup:

Normalnorbert

P.S. sorry i guess i can't spell lol

Edited by Normalnorbert, 13 September 2008 - 06:40 PM.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 garmanma

garmanma

Computer Masochist

• Members
  • 27,809 posts
  •  
  • Local time:11:58 PM

Posted 13 September 2008 - 09:23 PM

You problem is you took a computer built for Vista, with Vista drivers for the motherboard and now you need XP ones which possibly might not even exist.