Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

No Boot Device Available

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 VSAD

VSAD

• Members
  • 3 posts
  •  
  • Local time:01:01 AM

Posted 04 September 2008 - 01:58 PM

Hi! I am a novice at both posting in a forum and fixing a computer. This is my last try to fix my computer before either taking it to a pro or buying a new one altogether.

My Dell Dimension 8400 is more than three years old and out of warranty. Started showing the blue screen with error messages and to the best of my ability I determined that the hard drive was dying.I purchased a similar Western Digital 160 GB SATA hard drive.

I have a Dell reinstallation Disk. The BIOS is set so that the cd rom boots first,floppy drive second,hard drive third.Western Digital's level two tech was unable to install windows on the new hard drive. All I get is "No boot device available" "Press F1 to continue". I also tried my Windows 98 Installation Disk and Ubuntu that I downloaded on my Windows 98 pc.I tried every set of keys pressed while starting the computer to no avail.The new hard drive is recognized in the BIOS. Lastly, Western Digital suggested that I purchase a brand new Windows XP and install it because the Dell reinstaller(also ones from HP and other manufacturers) are inadequate to reinstall Windows on a new hard drive.