Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Help! I Cannot Get Rid Of This Malware

• This topic is locked This topic is locked
4 replies to this topic

#1 imbrium

imbrium

• Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
  • Local time:11:33 AM

Posted 26 August 2008 - 03:20 PM

Hi all -
this is my first time here; a friend told me about the forums, and after looking over them, I was more than impressed.
I was wondering if anyone could help me get rid of the FakeAlert-VB trojan....I was infected 2 days ago, and I cannot seem to fix this one.
My wallpaper keeps changing, I can't change it back, and McAfee keeps popping up saying it has removed the virus, but doesn't remove it at all.
I've tried TrendMirco scanning, but IT couldn't fix it either.

What can I do?

(attached is the HiJack This logfile I just ran).

Thanks in advance,
Imbrium

Attached Files

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

m

#2 steamwiz

steamwiz

• Members
  • 1,039 posts
  •  
  • Local time:04:33 PM

Posted 27 August 2008 - 04:54 PM

Hi

First ... please don't attach any logs (unless asked to do so) Copy & paste them, it's easier to read them that way ... thanks

Please Download Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware from Here :-

http://www.majorgeeks.com/Malwarebytes_Ant...ware_d5756.html

or here :-

http://www.besttechie.net/tools/mbam-setup.exe

Double Click mbam-setup.exe to install the application.