Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Xp Antivirus 2008 - Where Does It Come From?

• Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 DarkHelmet46

DarkHelmet46

• Members
  • 9 posts
  •  
  • Local time:10:51 AM

Posted 24 August 2008 - 11:18 PM

I am an IT professional. I cleanup XP Antivirus 2008 on a daily basis. However, I have never been able to figure out how it gets on the user's PC in the first place.

Now I am baffled even more. I was working on my own PC when suddenly a fake dialog box popped up asking me if I want to install XP Antivirus 2008. There was no cancel button or any other way to close the program. I pulled up task manager and saw a couple .tmp files running, killed them, and it went away.

I asked my wife if she recently downloaded or installed anything, but of course she said no. I did plug my flash drive in just before the box popped up, but my gut tells me that was just a coincidence.

So, anyone have any idea where this thing comes from??? Or should I perhaps torture my wife until she talks? :thumbsup: Just kidding.

-Mike
"Fear is the mind-killer." - Excerpt from the Litany Against Fear (Dune)

"Yep, what you have there is a classic eye dee ten tee error." - Me

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 DarkHelmet46

DarkHelmet46
  • Topic Starter

• Members
  • 9 posts
  •  

Posted 25 August 2008 - 06:14 PM