Jump to content


 


Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.


Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

User Account Data Deleted After Update To Sp3


  • Please log in to reply
No replies to this topic

#1 asmoreland

asmoreland

  • Members
  • 3 posts
  • OFFLINE
  •  
  • Local time:03:31 AM

Posted 24 August 2008 - 08:13 PM

A very strange thing happened. I ran SP3 update this weekend and while I was away from the computer, Windows installed a second update and automatically restarted the PC. I have no idea what the second update was, but I'm suspicious that it caused a problem. The account I used to run the update is fine and the second user's account still exists, but all his data is wiped out. Documents, emails, settings--all gone. I back up regularly, so only a few very recent files will be lost. Has anyone else encountered this? At this point, I'm annoyed, but all can be recovered...I'm mostly curious. If anyone has any feedback, I'd appreciate it.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

 





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users