Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Photo Editing

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 rlight

rlight

• Members
  • 257 posts
  •  
  • Local time:09:49 AM

Posted 21 August 2008 - 07:27 PM

Greetings,
Can you recommend a free photo editing program? I am a novice so I would need something basic. My main goal is to alter a few photos that I have, by removing unwanted parts of a few photos. I realize that Photoshop would be the ticket, but that is way more than I need. I already have photo programs that do very basic editing, but I need something a little more advanced.

thanks
rlight

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 nigglesnush85

nigglesnush85

• Members
  • 4,371 posts
  •  
  • Local time:01:49 PM

Posted 21 August 2008 - 07:36 PM

Hello rlight,

Have you looked at the Graphics Design & Editing section of http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/forums/topic3616.html
Regards,

Alan.

#3 Vaerli

Vaerli

• Members
  • 582 posts
  •  
  • Local time:06:49 AM

Posted 21 August 2008 - 09:43 PM

ah, I'm just going to go ahead and tell you to go with the GIMP (http://www.gimp.org) You can't really beat it for a freeware program. I can do almost anything in there that I can do with photoshop, minus a few nice features, but its definitely a program that rivals PS for me, at least. Plus, its sharpen and open as layer are awesome.