Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Dilemma : Unable To Access Internet With Ie 6

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 Press1forhelp

Press1forhelp

• Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
  • Local time:04:12 AM

Posted 06 August 2008 - 01:27 PM

Newbie here with average experience working with bleeping computers. My problem has me puzzled from a procedural standpoint and any help would be appreciated.

QUESTIONS… computer cannot access the internet.
- Is it helpful to download and scan w/detectors (AdAware, Spybot S+D, etc.) if I am unable to update with their latest files?
- I can download to another computer then transfer software to my computer and run without updating. Is that advisable and useful?

BACKGROUND
- OS Win-XP/SP2 Media Edition with all updates (except SP3).
- 1 GB RAM w/ Intel 2400 @ 1.83 GHz/988 MHz.
- Use IE, Version 6.0.2900.xpsp_sp2qfe070227-2300
- Recently lost internet access…it just ceased to connect. I can still use Outlook / Office XP for e-mail.
- IE just will not load...stalls out.
- ISP is Verizon FiOS; Verizon confirms that there is no issue with their service since another computer had no difficulty accessing via IE.
- Working wireless, and have tried connecting via line cord to the router…still unable to connect (wireless or line cord).
- Prefer to NOT upgrade to IE 7 due to compatibility issues at work.