Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Can't Access "my Computer" Or Internet

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 jimgolfs

jimgolfs

• Members
  • 6 posts
  •  
  • Local time:12:51 PM

Posted 04 August 2008 - 03:46 AM

Hi - I'm a newbie from Oz and have struck problems. At the bottom right hand corner of my Desktop (to the right of the time display) the words VIRUS ALERT! appear. My START MENU has been altered and I am unable to access EXPLORER type items including MY DOCUMENTS AND MY COMPUTER. I am also unable to access CONTROL PANEL. When I go into Command Prompt in C:\Documents and Setttings I see the following display among other things:

30/08/2008 09:55: VIRUS ALERT! <DIR> .viv

Two dll files, three jpegs, a file described as "lib31.2" and a text file live in that directory. All other items listed have the tag VIRUS ALERT! beside them as well.

If I try to open a file from MY COMPUTER using EXCEL just returns a screen without the MY COMPUTER option - same goes for NOTEPAD.

My O/S is XP, I'm using AVG Anti Virus Free, Spybot, PC Tools and Comodo Firewall Pro. I have run all of the "tools" and they tell me there is no virus. Methinks BS as nothing has changed.

When I ran AVG it found Adload_r.N at C:\WINDOWS\eram.exe and Adload_r.R at C:\WINDOWS\grswptdll.exe - both have been deleted and still the machine doesn't work properly.